☰ Menu

Lyle Thorstenson, MD

Chair, AMPAC Board of Directors

Re-appointed as Chair of the AMPAC Board of Directors in 2019, Lyle Thorstenson, MD, was previously Secretary of the Board. Dr. Thorstenson is a board-certified ophthalmologist, and is Section Chief Ophthalmology, North Texas Veterans Administration Medical Center and Associate Professor Ophthalmology at University of Texas Southwestern (UTSW), in Dallas, Texas. He was in ophthalmic private practice for 25 years in Nacogdoches, Texas until 2007 when he served as a locum tenens ophthalmologist in seven states until 2013, when he joined the Veterans Administration in Dallas.

Dr. Thorstenson received his medical degree from the Baylor College of Medicine in Houston, Texas. He did an internship and residency jointly at Parkland Memorial Hospital and at The University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center in Dallas, Texas.

Dr. Thorstenson has a long record of service to organized medicine. He is a life member of the AMA, and has been a member of Texas’ delegation to the AMA since 1995, served as Chairman from 2010-2014 and served as Vice-Chair from 2002-2010. Dr. Thorstenson served as a member of the Board of Trustees of the Texas Medical Association (TMA) from 1999-2009, including a term as Chairman from 2008-2009 and Vice Chair from 2005-2008.

He is also a Fellow and lifetime member of the American Academy of Ophthalmology, having most recently been named as a Councilor Emeritus in 2011. He has served in several capacities in the Nacogdoches-San Augustine County Medical Society, including Treasurer, Vice President and six terms as President.

Finally, Dr. Thorstenson’s political service to medicine includes three terms on the American Academy of Ophthalmology’s PAC (OPHTHPAC) Board of Directors from 1999-2005, and a Chairmanship of Senate District 3 on the TMA’s PAC (TEXPAC) Executive Committee.

Dr. Thorstenson and his wife Pam reside in Nacogdoches, Texas.